55 replies, 8 voices Last updated by Tim Peters 2 years, 4 months ago
Viewing 41 reply threads
  • Author

Lee Whitlock
      @lwhitlock

To Get us started, please introduce yourself with any theological, historical, and/or philosophical overview of your self. Also, let’s do a variation of something I’m sure you’ve done in other courses you’ve taken….an elevator speech of about 2 minutes. If you were asked to describe your own relationship with your religion, what would you say?

I am a graduate of the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, KY. I was fortunate enough to have Dr. Oates for “Pastoral Care.” I also had some of the other great professors in that department and, of course, in other areas as well. After graduation in 1974, I pastored churches in North Carolina for 10 years. I discovered that this was not the calling for me. Politics. Instead, I worked toward a Ph.D., but did not finish. I was fortunate enough in a business career, however, to travel the world (35 countries and 43 states). After I retired from that traveling career, I became a member of the Board of Directors of Beacon House Aftercare in Louisville several years ago, and then, because of my background, I was asked to be CEO of the organization, and I served in that capacity for three years. BHA is a wonderful half-way live in facility for men with all forms of addiction. In addition to men living in BH, we had active programs that furthered the opportunity for the men to stay sober and live sober, productive lives.

Please, over the week ahead, as you have time, read the “Introduction” and chapters 1 & 2: “Religion 101” and “Vishnu’s Almonds”.