Tommy Tredway
      Keymaster
      @TommyTredway

Please introduce yourself!

Michael Porter
      Participant
      @mkporter

Greetings,

My name is Mike and I am just beginning my 25th year as the Chaplain/Director for Pastoral Services at Porter Regional Hospital in Valparaiso, Indiana.  I am ordained in the Lutheran Church – now in my 35th year – and Board Certified in APC.  Prior to serving as a Chaplain, I served as a parish Pastor for almost nine years.  I am married for almost 39 years and we have a daughter, a son and two grandsons.

Balancing my personal faith and the faith of others happens daily with me as I visit with people throughout the day.  Through this, my faith has grown beyond the box I had it in.  I am interested in looking at this more though the guided discussions we will share.

Mike

Angel
      Participant
      @Angel

Hello Mike,

My name is Angel I am an Ordained American Baptist Minister and I also serve as a Hospital Chaplain.  I am looking forward to this course as I feel the way persons live out their faith is constantly evolving.  Similar to you working in the hospital, I have had moments where I my faith has been challenged.  I am curious to hear the stories from other colleagues.

Rick Underwood
      @RickUnderwood

Welcome, Angel and Mike and others,

The Oates program committee suggested the topic for this seminar, but none of them felt comfortable facilitating the discussion.  Since I firmly believe as a PRN Chaplain in a large, urban, medical center that the issues discussed here is very important, I agreed to facilitate.  I have chosen an article to launch our discussion written by Paul Knitter, Th.D, from Union Theological Seminary.  Though it is published in a social worker journal and addressed to social workers, I think the issues he raises and his reflections are a good introduction for our discussion.