7 replies, 6 voices Last updated by Laura Broadwater 1 year, 5 months ago
Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author

Joy Freeman
      Participant
      @jfreeman

My name is Joy Freeman and I am an ordained American Baptist board certified chaplain at a community not for profit hospital in the Kansas City Area.  I serve as the primary daytime chaplain covering all basic in patient needs where ever I am needed. I have been doing chaplaincy for 20 years now and am starting my 18th year at my current place of employment.

When not at work I am mom to a 12 almost 13 year old who just finished her last year of elementary school and will be making the transition to middle school.  I’m usually serving as her transportation to multiple activities but like so many others, not right now and we are all enjoying a less busy pace at home.  I have been married to my husband for 19 years. Crafting, reading, playing Dungeons and Dragons, teaching Taijifit(a type of Tai Chi) and training to eventually test for my second degree black belt in Tae Kwon Do fill my personal time.

I became aware of trauma informed  care about a year ago and ever since I have wanted to learn more about it and how to apply it to my chaplaincy work.  I hope to gain a better understanding of the principles of utilizing this lens of care and how to weave it into my own assessments and skill set.

Looking forward to the conversation.

Joy

Angel
      Participant
      @Angel

Joy,

You mentioned an article in one of your response.  Could you please share with me where you found the article?

Thank you,

Angel

Joy Freeman
      Participant
      @jfreeman

Angel, it is the link right above the ted talk video. Joy

Jennifer Gingerich
      @JenniferGingerich

Hi all,