All Courses Forums Course Discussion Forums Creating a Caring Presence Week 2 Discussion of Primer Chapters 2 – 3 & Listening & Caring Chapters 2/8 Reply To: Week 2 Discussion of Primer Chapters 2 – 3 & Listening & Caring Chapters 2/8

David
Participant
@Chaplain Brinker

Week Two:
I apologize to the class for not posting last week. Life and work were too demanding an complex for writing text and posting…
Reflections:
Listening Caring Skills
p. 29 in one form or another I have been using paraphrasing for over 40 years. I find that it is a skill I can always improve upon. In my early years of ministry I remember visiting a member of my church parish, were the bedside responses of the parishioner were confusing to me. I fell back on what I now all “crude parroting” repeating almost word for word what I had heard. It wasn’t very skillful, eventually the patient said, “ You’re repeating what I am saying.” It opened the door for me to admit I was confused by her responses and we were able to move into a space of clearer communication.

I can still feel anxious when conversations seem filled with mixed messages or incongruent information. Perhaps that is my I really liked the three categories of positive questions: free information, deletion, and distortion. I find these are helpful, practical ideas I can use to assess what I am hearing.

p. 52 By nature, I tend to approach people and relationships from an analytical/intellectual starting point. I can often be aware there is an emotion present in the moment, but finding the name for the feeling takes some efforts and work. I see this part of my journey as part of growing in emotional maturity and sets toward greater empathy. For these reasons I found the chart on page 52 a gold mine.