Lee Whitlock
@lwhitlock

Hello Everyone,

I’m sorry I’m late to the party. I’m having some health issues, and last week was “doctor week.” I had appointments and/or treatment every day but one.

I’m looking forward to the Caring Presence Program especially as I seek ways to minister to others in my church, Crescent Hill Baptist Church in Louisville, KY. We have a diverse congregation with a large elderly population. Amazingly, over 50% of the congregation have had relationships with the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary prior to its “change in direction” in the 90s. Either they have attended classes, graduated, and/or are children of graduates. We even have a smattering of missionary families in our church.

I graduated from SBTS in 1974 with an M.Div. in Theology and Biblical Studies. I also had a healthy dose of Pastoral Care classes. I practiced ministry for 10 years only to discover that being a pastor was not how I wanted to continue my ministry. I went back to SBTS in the 80s to earn a Ph.D. and did about 1.5 years work. In the meantime, finances and a change in marital status led me to a business career. I actually found that my Seminary training was a plus. I served as an Adult Education Teacher for five years, as Regional Training Director for American Greetings, as a Senior Consultant for Zenger-Miller and Holden International, as an English Professor for a 2-year college, and finally as CEO for Beacon House, a recovery house for men with alcohol and/or drug addictions. During my consulting years, I traveled to 35 countries and 43 US states. After my third retirement, I did volunteer work for various organizations (Kentucky Center for the Performing Arts, SCORE, Jefferson County Board of Education, etc.).